Tag Archives: Techno

World Power Alliance

Short-run trilogy of releases from the legendary Underground Resistance, with each of the three main members of the radical techno gang exploring a particular theme across a trio of one-sided concept twelves, the flips each covered with all manner of etched nonsense. Here’s the, um, concept:

“The World Power Alliance was designed to bring the worlds minds together, to combat the medicore audio and visual programming being fed to the inhabitants of Earth, this programming is stagnating the minds of the people, building a wall between races and world peace. This wall must be destroyed, and it will fall.

By using the untapped energy potential of sound, the W.P.A. will smash this wall much the same as certain frequencies shatter the glass.

Brothers of the underground, transmit your tones and frequencies from all locations of this world and wreak havoc on the programmers.


That’s all drivel of the highest order, of course, but this is still heavy pounding UR techno at its finest and well worthy of your attention.


(Mike Banks), 12″, World Power Alliance/UR, 1992

1. Kamikaze (5:52)



(Jeff Mills), 12″, World Power Alliance/UR, 1992

1. The Seawolf (5:43)



(Robert Hood), 12″, World Power Alliance/UR, 1992

1. Belgian Resistance (6:19)


Link ZSLink K2S

Tagged , , , ,

Sequential – Sequential


CD, Fax, 1993

Most beloved of all of Pete Namlook’s trance-techno sides, the twelve inch of “Sequential” by Sequential, made with DJ Criss and given a wide release on Rising High, remains a stone-cold classic. It liberally borrows its squiggly atmospheric opening from the first Red Planet twelve, but when those majestic synth chords kick in and the bass starts to bubble, and then that choir starts tickling your synapses, it’s the start of a delicious strobelit trip. The accompanying album was harder to find, though many of its ambient-trance grooves up across various other twelves.

01. Sequential (6:51)
02. 20.000 Leagues Under the Sea (6:59)
03. A Trip to Paradise (9:24)
04. Sonne (5:23)
05. Saturn Cruises (11:29)
06. Duane Sky (5:36)
07. X-Ray Delta One (8:28)
08. Ambient Block – Sequenchill/Mission Control #2/Lost in the Sea (15:57)
09. Everything is Under Control (6:48)

Link ZSLink K2SDiscogs

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leo Anibaldi – Muta

CD, ACV, 1993

Italian technohead Leo Anibaldi inhabited the grey interzone between deep acid techno and the burgeoning (early 90s) dark ambient scene that was really just good old industrial music with the beats removed. Some of this stuff has to our ears echoes of earlier industrial glories such as SPK’s Leichenshrei, only, y’know, with beats and perhaps a little less flesh-stripping chemical warfare. Eerie yet toe-tapping, what’s not to like?

He made a couple of albums for ACV, of which this is the second after Cannibald, and then Void for the mighty Rephlex label. There’s a useful collection from all three of these, including Muta, called (with some hyperbole) Classics ’90-95 knocking around, and Anibaldi returned to public view with a download album a few years back called 2000 Cuts. You should buy it.

01. Part 1 (6:10)
02. Part 2 (10:59)
03. Part 3 (6:36)
04. Part 4 (6:20)
05. Part 5 (5:21)
06. Part 6 (5:21)
07. Part 7 (7:24)
08. Part 8 (5:03)
09. Part 9 (7:47)

Link ZSLink K2SDiscogs

Tagged , , , , , ,

Various – Acid House

LP, Jack Trax, 1988

And this is the sort of acid techno those last couple of records were trying to emulate. BTW, this is the European edition of this record; there’s a US version retitled Acid LP that drops “Confusion’s Revenge” for a second Mr Fingers track, but we know you’ve all got Ammmnesia anyway to we’re keeping this just as it is. Meanwhile, we’re intrigued to see just how collectible these early US and UK acid records are getting, just as many Stateside techno types are getting all 808-squiggly on our asses again this last year or two…

1. Pierre’s Pfantasy Club – Dream Girl
2. Phortune – Can You Feel the Bass
3. Armando – Confusion’s Revenge
4. Armando – 151

1. Mr. Fingers – The Juice
2. Phortune – Jiggerwatts
3. Kool Ma Kool – World Turns Round
4. Megamix – Pump up the Acid

Link ZSLink K2SDiscogs

Tagged , , ,

Various – Acid Trance


LP, Blue Chip, 1988

… Meanwhile, the guys behind Blue Chip Records and the Kevin Saunderson-worshipping Nexus 21 were plotting their own move from Detroit-inspired early techno into pure acid… or at least the sound as they saw it, from the desolate industrial wastelands of, um, Stafford, England. As is usual with these early scene-jumping records, almost everyone on the disc is pretty much the same couple of guys under a bunch of pseudonyms. And as is often the case, they finally hit on a couple of artist names that they’d stick with for a while – in this case, the mighty Altern-8 and Bizarre Inc.

01. The Smiley People – It Makes Me Haaappy
02. MADM – To the Acid House
03. Bubbleena – Ah Ha Ha Ha Haaa (Alright Matey Mix)
04. Blip Blop – In a Trance (Doo It)
05. Jeuce – Zoooommm
06. Thieves of Bagdad – Let Me Hear You Scream

Link ZSLink K2SDiscogs

Tagged , , , ,

Techno! – the New Dance Sound of Detroit / Techno 2 – the Next Generation

The word “techno” had been used in the title of several electro-pop dance records before this – even as far back as a Yellow Magic Orchestra album in 1981. Man Parrish had their electro “Techno Trax” in 1982, and of course Juan Atkins’ “Techno City” was in 1984, at a point where electro and hip-hop were creating sleek new sounds. It always seems to take a gathering together of disparate forms, though, to start to properly coalesce a scene. Regardless of where the term came from, this landmark compilation (and its darker follow-up) put the term front and centre as the sound of Detroit, and from there the world. It could so easily have been so different – the story goes that the first volume was all set to be called “The New House Sound of Detroit”, but when Juan Atkins turned up with his “Techno Music” track the title was assured.

A couple of years later, the follow-up disc showed the spread of the sound into harsher, sparer, more hypnotic tracks. Highlight for the Friendsound crew has always been the kooky 4AD samplefest of “Stark”, sole release by KGB (Tim Brown). Sample-spotters hold onto your hats for “A Lambkin is Bleating” from Les Mysteres des Voix Bulgares and the piano riff from “Blue Bell Knoll” by the Cocteau Twins. Classic albums both, ripped warmly from living vinyl.


Techno! – the New Dance Sound of Detroit, LP/CD, Ten, 1988

A1. Rythim Is Rythim – It Is What It Is (5:36)
A2. Blake Baxter – Forever and a Day (5:36)
A3. Eddie “Flashin” Fowkes – Time to Express (5:41)
A4. K.S. Experience – Electronic Dance (6:36)
B1. Members of the House – Share This House (Radio mix) (5:56)
B2. A Tongue & D Groove – Feel Surreal (6:55)
B3. Mia Hesterley – Spark (6:09)
B4. Juan – Techno Music (7:20)
C1. Inner City – Big Fun (7:39)
C2. Blake Baxter – Ride ‘Em Boy (7:02)
C3. Shakir – Sequence 10 (5:20)
C4. Idol Making – Un, Deux, Trois (6:05)
D. Various – Detroit is Jacking (The Techno! Megamix) (13:49)
(mix by Juan Atkins & Derek May; lp version only)

Link ZSLink K2SLink DFDiscogs

Techno 2 – the Next Generation, LP/CD, Ten, 1990

A1. Area 10 – Love Take Me Over (7:09)
A2. Reel By Real – Aftermath (5:17)
A3. KGB – Stark (6:36)
A4. MK – Mirror, Mirror (6:27)
B1. Octave One featuring Lisa Newberry – I Believe (5:56)
B2. Infiniti – Techno Por Favor (5:14)
B3. Psyche – Elements (6:52)
B4. Vice – Ritual (5:48)

Link ZSLink K2SDiscogs

Tagged , , ,
%d bloggers like this: