Tag Archives: Dub

The Moody Boys – Journey Into Dubland


12″, XL, 1990

Fulfilling request.

a1. Dub Me Right (8:19)
a2. Free (5:20)
b1. Lion Dance (5:23)
b2. Pumpin Dumpin (5:44)
b3. AUN (3:51)

Link K2SDiscogs

Tagged , , , ,

Suns of Arqa Meet Sprout Head Uprising – White Band Speak With Forked Tongue

Tape, Bop Cassettes, 1989-ish

Manchester’s kings of esoteric dub, Suns of Arqa, have long been a secret pleasure for many, with their mash-ups of reggae, folk, soul, Indian, African and dance music, both live and on record. Centred on main man Michael Wadada, their ranks have from time to time included members of Simply Red and The Mothmen, occasional work with Adrian Sherwood and other On-U Sound types, and with guest vocals from Prince Far I, John Cooper Clarke and the legendaribold Britishlyfied nutterfolderoll Stanley Unwin.

Here's an obscure corner of their chunky back catalogue, a selection of covers and originals, and two remix competition winners, from the short but lovely Bop Cassettes list. Check out that Discogs link for fuller details of those who contributed.

01. Open the Door to Your Heart
02. A Lot of Love
03. Heavenly Bodies
04. Meet de Boys on the Battlefront
05. No Sad Song
06. Competition Drum Mix
07. Competition Bass & Drum Mix
08. Pressure Drop
09. Champs Elysees
10. Conscious Man/Turn Me Loose
11. Heavenly Bodies (Adrian Sherwood Mix)
12. Rough Rider
13. Electric Animal

Link ZSDiscogs

Tagged , , , , ,

The Mothmen

When we posted that early On-U Sound compilation, Wild Paarty Sounds, the track that got most attention was by The Mothmen, Manchester’s shadowy purveyors of post-punk dub-funk. It’s well past time, we thought, to revisit them…

Their brief life is a surprisingly fascinating one. They were assembled from various Manc bands, including the Alberto Y Lost Trios Paranoias, to form the backing for Vini Reilly on his first Durutti Column album. This line-up split and Reilly effectively went solo, and the rest of them formed The Mothmen. After a single on local label Absurd, their debut album Pay Attention was picked up by On-U Sound for their second release. Despite this, owner Adrian Sherwood played no part in the record, and only remixed one track (for the aforementioned Wild Paarty Sounds) – though drummer Chris Joyce did guest with the London Underground on some recordings. A couple of singles and a more new wave, almost Talking Heads-ish second album for Robin “M” Scott’s Do It! label were followed in early 1982 by the band splitting.

And then – Joyce and guitarist Tony Bowers joined the first line-up of a little band called Simply Red, which in turn led to Adrian Sherwood providing some remixes for that band… and rumours of an entire “Simply Red In Dub” album languishing in the vaults somewhere. Various members have also played with the Suns of Arqa over the years; sure it’s no coincidence that the first track on One Black Dot is called “Wadada”, a word very familiar to Arqanauts. And tragically, the Happy Mondays song “Cowboy Dave” was inspired by the murder of guitarist Dave Rowbotham in 1991.

Credit where it’s due: The Irene single, included for completeness, came from the much-missed Always Searching For Music.

Does It Matter Irene, 7″, Absurd, 1979

A. Does It Matter Irene
B. Please Let Go

Link ZSLink DFDiscogs


Pay Attention, LP, On-U Sound, 1980

A1. Afghan Farmer Driving Cattle
A2. Animal Animaux
A3. Not Moving
A4. Factory/Teapoint/Factory
A5. Please Let Go
A6. Tardis (Sweep is Dead, Long Live Sweep)
B1. The Mothman

Link ZSLink DF • Discogs


One Black Dot, LP, Do It!, 1982

A1. Wadada
A2. Temptation
A3. One More Weapon
A4. Let’s Talk About It
A5. No Rest
B1. One Black Dot
B2. Weekend
B3. House & Car
B4. Home Sweet Home
B5. Thank You I Like It

Link ZSLink DFDiscogs

Tagged , , ,

Various – Wild Paarty Sounds vol.1

LP, Cherry Red, 1981

We like our On-U Sound on the early side, so what better than this pre-Pay It All Back collection of mutant indie/dub experiments? Back in these early days, as Adrian Sherwood was still learning his craft, you still get the occasional ex-Pop Group and Slits folks hanging around (Machine Gun Hogg & Co, Ari Up’s New Age Steppers); the mighty Manc freaks Suns of Arqa and the Mothmen – later to form the first iteration of, well, no easy way to say it, Simply Red; and several tracks of almost industrial-tinged clattering. And here’s where you find “Quante Jubila”, still possibly Prince Far-I’s finest rhythm. Later (1991) out on an equally forgotten CD, but ripped from vinyl for proper bass response, y’all.

1. Jah Woosh – Woodpecker Sound (3:25)
2. Machine Gun Hogg & Co. – Bed Bound Saga (3:35)
3. Prince Far I & Creation Rebel- Quanté Jubila (3:17)
4. The Chicken Granny – Quit the Body (3:05)
5. Alan Pillay – Parasitic Machine (3:42)
6. London Underground – Dreams are Better (4:14)

1. Suns of Arqa – Asian Rebel (5:02)
2. Alan Pillay – Demonic Forces (3:46)
3. The Mothmen – Afghani Dub (2:26)
4. Jeb Loy & the Oil Wells – Things that Made U.S. (4:41)
5. New Age Steppers – Yipee I Aah (2:48 )
6. Judy Nylon – The Dice (3:44)

Link ZSLink K2SDiscogs

Tagged , , ,
%d bloggers like this: